31
May
10

today

While I sit at home today I had the luxury of scanning the Internet for my usual time-killing activities. Check email, check blogs, check news, check celebrity gossip. This mindless behavior typically results in the usual quick interest, but fading memory. But today, as I was reading the news, I came across this article, and was both humbled and impressed. Something in this story resonated with me probably partly because I am a woman, maybe also as an American, but I think it resonated with me mostly because of my belief in the importance of relationship.

This is a military tactic I suppose. But at the heart of the tactic lies the central premise that people want to be known. I cannot imagine how these women marines feel on a daily basis. And on the flip side of that, how the Afghan women, who are so isolated, and quite possibly have been told about American women, feel now that they are both meeting face to face.

It is all very exciting to me. I think today on the thousands of men and women who have the opportunity not to destroy, but to build something that may last longer than a few seconds.

Every time we liberate a woman, we liberate a man.  ~Margaret Mead


0 Responses to “today”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Books that made an impact

Recent views